Baby Hillin | 20 Weeks

20 Weeks

How Far Along: 20 Weeks – Halfway there!! Woo hoo!

Baby is the size of a(n): small cantaloupe

Gender: baby girl

Weight Gain: I think were up to 13 at the doctor’s office.

Maternity Clothes: oh yeah.. and I think I’ve actually just about outgrown one of my shirts lol

Stretch Marks: still checking, still haven’t found any thankfully

Belly Button In or Out: Still hanging in there!

Wedding Rings On or Off: On

Sleep: ugh… so bad.. I have never been one for insomnia but sometimes I’m just awake in the middle of the night. I blame being uncomfortable.

Best Moment This Week: Seeing her at our REAL anatomy scan!

Miss Anything: being comfortable. I’m not in any pain really, just uncomfortable all the time. I know it will only get worse.

Movement: Gah – this has been a HUGE week for movement. So Nolan was finally able to feel her move! I was laying on the couch and I felt her moving quite a bit on my right, so I started feeling her with my hand. After she was pretty consistent for a little bit, I called him and had him come in from working on the shop to feel her and he did! He said, “Was that her?? The little pops?” 🙂 So glad he finally got to feel her. Then I started SEEING her move! That is so crazy to me! The first time was when I went to the bathroom, and as I was leaning over to help empty my bladder I could feel her kicking like normal, but when I stood up my belly was like morphed out to the right and then it moved out to the left, like she was stretching out after me cramping her up when I leaned over. Since then I’ve been seeing her move all the time. I’ve also been feeling some harder kicks, and not just tiny flutters and pops anymore. Yay for growing!

Cravings: I don’t think I’ve actually had any cravings this week.

Symptoms: round ligament pain is getting even more prominent and I’ve been feeling a tad bit nauseous the last couple of days. Other than that, feeling pretty good!

Noteworthy Moments: I wanted to wait until today so that I could post an update after our doctors appointment. They went ahead and did my real anatomy scan and we really got to see her in depth and see all of her body parts. I got some really cute pictures too! She’s still a girl – third time we’ve checked – and even though it seems like she’s grown SO much in the pictures, she’s still just a little baby. She’s measuring about half an lb in weight but right on track in other measurements, plus she still has some crazy long legs! Her heartbeat was 160 and she was kicking like crazy. We got to go over our genetic testing which came back all clear – no spina bifida, no down’s syndrome, and no trisomy issues. So genetically and anatomically, she’s super healthy! We talked a bit more about my contractions – which have actually eased up quite a bit. I haven’t had any since Saturday, so my doctor pretty much said keep doing whatever I’m doing. Then she hit me with the latest hiccup – I have a low lying placenta, also known as placenta previa. For those of you that don’t know what that is, it’s when the placenta grows over the cervix, blocking the baby’s exit. So at this point, we’ll continue to monitor it by ultrasound every 4 weeks and hope that as she grows and the uterus moves up even more, it pulls the placenta up with it. If for some reason it stays down low, we’ll be scheduling a C-section probably around the end of December. At that point a vaginal birth would be too risky for hemorrhaging, as well as the simple concept of she wouldn’t have a way out. I’m not too upset about this, except that I know I need to watch closely for any sign of bleeding and get to a hospital asap if I see anything, but I know they’ll be monitoring me and in most cases the placenta moves up anyway. My mother in law had the same thing when she was pregnant with Nolan and her’s moved up. If it doesn’t then I know my doctor will take good care of me and we won’t be causing any risk to me or Whitlee. Still considered “high risk” at this point, but things are looking up! I know it may seem like this has been a rough pregnancy to some people, but I don’t see it that way. I feel like whatever is thrown out me, I can deal with it as long as in the end we get our baby here safely!

Now – on to some ultrasound pictures!

 

Sweet little girl!

Sweet little girl!

Check out those legs!

Check out those legs!

Leave a Reply

