31 Day Blog Challenge

I decided to try this 31 day blogging challenge posted by Kendra at One Day At A Time. I’m at home for a couple more months, so blogging every day might be fun during this time!

image

So Day One is Introduction and Recent Photo.

My name is Jaime, and my husband Nolan and I just welcomed our first child, Whitlee in November of 2014. She was born 6 weeks early (!) via emergency c section due to preeclampsia and spent 20 days in the NICU. She’s at home now and growing like crazy! We are so obsessed with her.

image

image

My husband is my very best friend. We met Labor Day weekend of 2009 at a nearby lake. I saw him wakeboarding from a distance, met him later and instantly had a crush on him! πŸ™‚ He’s pretty awesome at wakeboarding and eventually taught me how to be pretty decent. I can’t wait until Whitlee is old enough to teach! Nolan is actually obnoxiously good at like, everything. So I hope Whitlee gets his talents, not mine.

image

image

image

The three of us live in Southeast Texas on 6 acres of land. We bought our property because of the location and the amount of land, but with a tiny little house that was in terrible condition. We got engaged in January 2013, closed on the land and house in April that year, spent day and night remodeling like crazy for 2 months (completely gutted the house, wiring and plumbing, walls and everything), moved in on Sunday, July 7 and got married on that Thursday, July 11. It was an intense few months. I like to say if we can make it through that without killing each other, we can make it through anything! I guess we’ll test that theory, because we’re hoping to build a new home on our land this year. I’m so excited and anxious! (I’ll share before and after pictures of our current house one day. It’s insane.)

image

Our House Closing

I’m currently on maternity leave from an amazing family owned company. It’s an industrial fabrication and oilfield company and I do document control for them. I won’t bore you with the details, but it’s got a lot to do with quality control of industrial fabricated projects; we’re currently working on carbon and stainless steel pipe pieces for a pipeline installation in Sabine Pass. They have been ah-mazing with my pregnancy being high risk and leading to more frequent doctors appointments and then with her coming early and needing a little longer maternity leave. As much as I’m going to hate leaving Whitlee eventually, I look forward to doing my job again.

I started this blog when we got pregnant with Whitlee, mainly so my Nanny (my grandmother) could keep up with us. She lives a good ways away and I didn’t want her to miss my growing belly! She’s one of my favorite people and I love when we get to see her. Whitlee is her first great grandbaby so she’s head over heels for her!

So that’s us in a nutshell. And here’s a few recent pictures of us!

image

image

image

image

4 thoughts on “31 Day Blog Challenge

  1. Jai, I’m sooo happy you are doing this 31 day blog. Not just this one, but ALL of it. I am one REALLY PROUD grandmother AND great grandmother. I can’t tell you how great I feel every time I read your blog. It makes me SMILE and CRY at the same time. I am so so proud of the wife and mother you have become. It is still so hard to imagine my baby grand daughter with a most precious daughter. If I haven’t said it yet, THANK YOU for being an awesome daughter, grand daughter, wife and mother. And THANK YOU AND NOLAN for giving me the most blessed gift of all, my great grand daughter, Whitlee. THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BABY EVER!!!!!!! LOVE, Nanny I read everything and the pictures are wonderful.

    • I’m glad you’re still reading! And I’m glad you’re so proud of me. Thank YOU for being such an awesome grandmother and great grandmother. We miss you and love you!

Leave a Reply

