Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

I was nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award by Kendra at One Day At A Time. We’ve  “met” through being pregnant at the same time and our baby girls not only being due so close to each other but also arriving early close to each other. She and I compare notes on our growing preemie girls and gain some peace of mind knowing they’re right on track! I’ve been enjoying getting to know her lately and I’m so happy she and her family are doing well.

The Rules:

-Link to the person who nominated you.
-Add the award logo.  *Not sure what the logo is*
-Answer the questions your nominator asked.
-Nominate 7 other blogs.
-Ask your nominees 10 questions.

My Nominations:

I’m only nominating 6, because Kendra would have been my 7th, but she’s already been nominated and I didn’t want her to have to answer more questions and go through the process all over again on top of the 31 day blogging challenge we’re doing. These are all ladies due around the same time as I was with Whitlee and all but one also had baby girls! It’s so neat to read all of their stories and see their babies growing!

Booze, Boobs, and Babies
Our Happily Ever After
Confessions of a Southern Mama
Owls + Oaks
Baby Steps – Adventures of a First Time Mom
The Nettles Nest
Oops, I lied! Adding one more!
Making a Baby V

My Questions and Answers:

Is there any animal you hate, and why? Well I’ll be honest, I have a serious hate for our neighbors Labrador. I usually love all dogs and I’ve always liked Labs especially, but this one likes to visit our house and run off with muddy shoes we leave outside our door sometimes. He’s taken one of my husband’s work boots, one of his Crocs, one of my flip flops, one of my Crocs, and another work boot. Thankfully our neighbor found the second work boot because they were the pair we bought to replace the first boot the dog took. I mean this dog has taken like $300 worth of shoes! It makes me angry that I can’t leave shoes on my own porch because of a dog that doesn’t belong to us!

Do you have any sports rivalries in your house? We’re not really into sports at all, so I’ll have to say no here.

What is your favorite feature about your significant other? How hard he works. I tell him all the time he was born in the wrong time era, and I mean that in the most complimentary way possible. He works like people worked back in the day.. sun up to sun down, and then some. As a result, our property has transformed into something amazing in just a year. Oh and bonus, he still finds time to be a legit husband and daddy!

Where is your ideal place to live and why? I love our place right now, but if we were to ever move, it’d probably be to the lake or somewhere warm year round. Nolan and I both hate cold weather.

Have you ever seen a tornado in person? From a long distance. Thankfully, never up close.

What is your favorite show on TV currently? Currently on TV, Revenge.

What was your favorite vacation? Mine and Nolan’s honeymoon in Gulf Shores/Orange Beach Alabama was SO much fun. Our anniversary trip back the next year was also a blast, but I was newly pregnant and still fighting all day sickness so I’d put it a close second. I talk about both here and here. I think were going back in the early fall for Whitlee’s first real vacation. Just seems right.

Is your current career what you imagined you would be doing or something completely different? Where we live the most common industry is oil and gas related, so I figured I’d end up doing something in that field. I’m extremely meticulous so it’s not surprising that I ended up in Quality Control.

If there is one thing you could change about your house (or current living establishment), what is it and why? Our house is tinyyyy and poorly insulated. We’re planning to build a new home this year, so if I could change anything about our house, it’d be to get rid of it completely! We’re keeping our land but selling the house “to be moved” and I think it’ll be so cute when Whitlee says, “Bye Bye, House!”

What is your biggest pet peeve?
I’d have to say lack of common sense. I’m not sure what the deal is these days but people are so incredibly dumb! Like I’ve said about too many people, “I think he/she just has a low IQ”.

Your Questions:

1. How did you and your significant other meet?

2. Were you named after anyone?

3. How many children do you want?

4. Do you have any hidden talents?

5. What is your favorite physical feature about yourself?

6. What is your dream vehicle?

7. What kind of phone do you use? (iPhone, Motorola, Samsung, etc.)

8. If you had to pick one food to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be?

9. Do you put your toilet paper on the roll over or under? (So random, I know. We have had this conversation in our family so any times, though.)

10. What is your favorite beverage?

Ready, set, go!

5 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Aww thanks for that! I’m so glad you wrote this and answered my questions. It’s been great getting to know you better! I feel the more we chat on here the more we realize we really have in common! Just for fun – I’m going to answer your questions!
    1. How did you and your significant other meet? I was bored one night during my junior year of college so I decided to search yahoo profiles for someone who raised rabbits to chat with. I came across my husband’s profile and started a conversation with him. A few months later we met in person and a month after that we were officially a couple.
    2. Were you named after anyone? I vaguely remember my mom telling me I was named after a childhood friend of hers.
    3. How many children do you want? I’m honestly not sure right now. For the longest time I wanted two. Then after going through fertility treatments I decided I would be happy with one. After I finally got pregnant I started thinking about three. Now that I have a newborn, I’m seriously thinking she’s going to be the one and only.
    4. Do you have any hidden talents? I can do math really quickly in my head. For example, I can go shopping and anytime something is a certain percentage off I can calculate the sale price almost instantly. I’m also really good at converting decimals to fractions and vice versa. I’m not sure if that’s a hidden talent – but the first thing that comes to mind!
    5. What is your favorite physical feature about yourself? My eyes. They’re really dark brown and I just love the color.
    6. What is your dream vehicle? Something that is purple. Before I bought my last car, I swore the next vehicle I purchased would be purple. I ended up with a champagne silver chevy cruze. Maybe next time!
    7. What kind of phone do you use? (iPhone, Motorola, Samsung, etc.) Samsung Galaxy 3 and I love it!
    8. If you had to pick one food to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be? Chocolate. Dove Milk Chocolate preferably!
    9. Do you put your toilet paper on the roll over or under? (So random, I know. We have had this conversation in our family so any times, though.) It has to be roll over. I cannot stand when the paper come from under the roll.
    10. What is your favorite beverage? Friedrich’s vanilla frappe. Now I want one but won’t be able to indulge that craving until Thursday when I head to Des Moines for my 6 week postpartum appointment!

    • I’m glad you answered them! I was kinda hoping you would anyway haha.. just didn’t want to overwhelm you!

      I also feel that way about Whitlee might be the one and only. I can’t imagine having two or more right now!

      • Lol – I love stuff like this! It’s fun to share fun facts and stories!

        I really want someone to ask me that same question in a year. I’m curious if by then I will want to do this all over again. My poor husband has to keep dealing with all my tears and “I don’t think I can give you another child”. This has been so much harder than I ever imagined!

      • Haha I’ll ask you again next year!

        My husband and I are both about 4.5/5 years apart from our siblings so we’ve decided that IF we have another child, it’ll be that long before we do. Thankfully that gives me enough time to think about it! My biggest fear is another preemie and nicu stay. That was heartbreaking not to hold my baby for so long and I really don’t want to go through that again.

      • I definitely believe taking the time to think about having another child is important. You both went through a lot with Whitlee’s nicu stay so I completely understand your fears. My fear is going through all these emotions again with another newborn. The whole breastfeeding thing and not being successful took it’s toll on me. I’ve cried so much since she’s been born and I don’t know that I can put myself through it all again. I know my husband wants a son some day but I’ve tearfully told him several times that I don’t know if I can go through this all over again!

Leave a Reply

