Whitlee | 2 Months

IMG_4539

Our sweet girl was 2 months old this past Sunday! I’ll probably say this every time, but I can not believe how fast it’s going by. I try to soak it up, especially since I go back to work in March. She changes so much every day, though. We are thoroughly enjoying this little girl!

IMG_4542

Stats:
We went to her 2 month appointment on Monday and she was 8 lbs, 15 oz! So almost 9 freakin pounds of baby chub. I love it! And she was 21 inches long. So I mentioned before I don’t think they put preemies on the growth chart until much later because they start out so small, but Whitlee is now on the charts! Her pediatrician was thrilled and said she’s catching up quickly. She’s only in the 5th percentile right now, but she said that’s amazing for a 2 month old born 6 weeks early. I was a proud momma!

Eating:
Whitlee is eating like crazy! She eats 3-4 ounces every 3-4 hours. Occasionally she fights us a little on the bottles, but it’s usually because she needs to burp. If she doesn’t get a burp several times during a feeding, it’s like she can’t possibly hold any more milk and she basically spits it all back out. Not like spit up, but she just lets the milk in her mouth run out. She is extremely impatient waiting on a bottle to warm up, so I tried to give it to her cold one time and she wasn’t having that business at all. It totally jacked with her suck, swallow, breathe capabilities. It was crazy! Warmed it up, and she was right back to normal. She’s still getting breast milk for all of her bottles, and we’re fortifying them all to 22 calories with Similac Neosure. When we run out of breast milk, we’ll be switching to Enfamil Gentlease, but we’ll still be mixing it to be 22 calories. They’re having us continue that until 9 months. It’s working though, girlfriend is growing like a weed!

Sleep:
So I typed a massive blog post about Whitlee’s sleeping arrangements and my lovely WordPress app deleted that sucker about the time I was going to post it. So I’m trying to retype it, but my thoughts are a little scattered since I had notes typed as it was happening, then built the real post from the notes. Long story short though, as I mentioned a few posts back, she is now sleeping in her crib at night and for all of her naps. She also goes to sleep mostly on her own once we lay her down. I still hold her until she’s asleep about half of the time because I like my snuggle time, but she’s definitely capable of doing it on her own. She’s growing up too fast! But the up side was that after a night time feeding (she still wakes up twice a night usually to eat), we can put her back in her crib whether she is asleep or not and she is usually back to sleep in less than 3 minutes. Next step is to sleep through the night. I’m not really holding my breath on that one though.

Milestones:
We are getting real smiles these days! Like smiles that I don’t think are just gas. Sometimes she wakes up from a nap in such a good mood, and I’ll ask her, “Did you have a good nap, baby girl??” and she just smiles at me. A few nights ago, Nolan was tickling her belly and she was smiling her little head off. She is a daddy’s girl for sure!

She’s got some serious head control now too. Our pediatrician was shocked and said she didn’t expect that at all. She likes to lay on our chests and put her arms under her and raise up to look at us. She’ll do that for long periods of time.

She also puts weight on her chubby little legs! When she’s on our chests, she’ll push off our laps and if we put our hands under her feet, she’ll keep pushing until she “climbs” up our chest. It’s the craziest thing. She’s so strong!

She found her hands a few days ago. Nolan had her laying back against his legs and all the sudden she started waving her hands to her face really slow, and like went cross eyed looking at them. It was pretty funny! She actually likes to suck on her hand more than a pacifier most of the time too.

20150127_162214

IMG_4570

She got her 2 month shots Monday and I cried a little right along with her. They let me hold her while they did it and I (thankfully) have never heard her cry like that. It was awful. But I’m glad we’ve never heard that cry because I take that to mean we haven’t ever hurt her like that. I popped a bottle in her mouth right after they were done and it helped her calm down. She ran a little warmer temperature than normal the rest of the day and slept like crazy (both of which the pediatrician said was expected) so I gave her some Tylenol late yesterday evening and we had quite a rough night last night, but she seems to closer to normal today. We took a long walk in the stroller (Texas was experiencing abnormal highs for January while there was a blizzard up north) and she was awake the whole time, just soaking it all up. I think it cheered her up. 🙂

Likes: 

Bath time

Riding in her stroller

20150127_152038

the Boba Wrap (seriously best $40 I ever spent!)

20150124_173138

Being talked to, especially by Mommy and Daddy

Playing on Mommy and Daddy’s bed (No, we don’t have multicolor chevron bedding, that was my hospital pillow case and I kinda like it so I kept using it even though it doesn’t match at all.)

IMG_4503  IMG_4506

Holding my finger while she eats her bottle – melts my heart!

20150120_210217

“Hugging” me while she sleeps on me. She started wrapping her arm around my neck and snuggling her face in the other side… I love it!

20150125_171856

And apparently, daddy’s warm t-shirts fresh out of the laundry. Last night I needed to fold laundry so I put her in the Rock and Play by me and she started crying. So I laid one of Nolan’s warm t-shirts on her and she went silent. Made some funny faces, but she was content.

PhotoGrid_1422331744818

Dislikes:

Waiting on a bottle

Cold Bottles

Being put in or taken out of the car seat (she’s fine once she’s in or out)

When the car stops moving

Changing clothes – she fights us every time!

We still can’t believe how fast she’s growing but it makes us proud because she started out so small. It’s so much fun playing with her and watching her personality develop even more. I’m not wishing her life away, but each new month is more fun and exciting than the last! And I love to kiss her fat little cheeks!!

IMG_4545

IMG_4555

IMG_4515  IMG_4516

Look how much she’s grown in one month! ❤

1 Month 2 Month

10 thoughts on “Whitlee | 2 Months

  1. Oh my goodness she has changed! She’s really filling out! That’s awesome she’s almost 9# already! She looks amazing! I’m so happy everything is going well for you all! I’m dreading the two month shots as you’re the second friend that has talked about how upset the baby got. What do you think of the rock and play? It seems everyone has one but me and I’m wondering if I should invest in one still or if she’ll outgrow it soon and I’d just be wasting money.

    • Thank you! I couldn’t believe her weight Monday!

      For the shots, I’d read to have a bottle ready or be ready to nurse right afterwards and it did seem to help. She still screamed during the actual shots, but calmed down fairly quick with the bottle and some snuggles.

      We used the rock and play for her to sleep in for the first few weeks but we never got more than a couple hours of sleep out of her in it. Now I just use it for a quick safe place to put her down if I need to while she’s awake. Just my opinion, but if you don’t have one already, I’d pass on it. I feel like they’re more useful when they’re newborns. I know a lot of people swear by it as a sleeper they can put by their bed, but Whitlee just doesn’t love it.

      • Thanks for the tip with the shots. I will definitely have a bottle ready (we’re not breastfeeding). We have a 25 minute drive home after the shots and normally she passes out in the car so I’m hoping that will help out!

        Thanks for your opinion on the rock and play. I was looking at one online but its not much more different than the bouncer I have so I think I will take your advice and pass on it! I have a portable bassinet in our room that she sleeps in during the night now and her pack and play is set up in the living room for naps and to use her activity mat/gym so she’s up off the floor. I don’t trust our dogs around her yet (black lab is 100lbs and just doesn’t pay attention where he’s stepping and the Pomeranian gets too close for comfort and has an attitude problem).

        My husband keeps asking me when we’re going to put Mackenzie in the crib at night. I’m just not quite ready but I need to start doing it. We just moved all her bedroom furniture around today so we just need to hook up the video monitor in her room and then we’re good to go. I would feel better about it if she was sleeping longer than 4-4.5 hours at night. I know I lose sleep with her in our room though as I have to watch her to make sure she’s breathing before I go to sleep each time!

      • Whitlee’s crib is super close to our room or I probably wouldn’t have moved her just yet so I don’t blame you! Thankfully she’s a noisy sleeper and I can hear her making noises throughout the night or I’d be up checking on her like crazy! I just retyped my sleep post so I’ll hopefully get it up tomorrow and it’ll go into detail about what all we did.

      • Mackenzie’s room is right across the hall from our room and her crib is right inside the door so she’ll be close by but once we move her to her crib overnight I’ll still have the monitor set up next to me. It’s good that Whitlee is noisy – less to worry about! I’ll definitely read your post tomorrow as I am curious! 🙂

  2. I’m terrible about her naps lately. She’ll fall asleep on me and I’ll let her nap there. I hope I’m not breeding bad habits, but the snuggles are too good to pass up. At night we can usually get her to sleep in the pack n’ play if she is swaddled.

    • Oh I definitely agree on the snuggles. We loosely followed some sleep training guidelines to get her sleeping in her crib but as you can see from the pics, she snuggles so good! So I tend to let her nap on me more often than I probably should during the day. They’re only little once though! 🙂

  3. Nothing makes my day better than reading your posts and seeing my beautiful daughter and granddaughter grow together 😍 you make me so proud! Normally, I wouldn’t encourage a young mother back to work, but you need to GO so pawpaw and ya-ya can get their hands on Sweet Cheeks! Jk! I want you to enjoy every minute you can and it looks like you doing just that. Love you all always! Mom (ya-ya)

  4. Pingback: Postpartum Update – 10 Weeks | Southernly Ever After

Leave a Reply

