Postpartum Update – 10 Weeks

I just realized that while I’m posting regularly for the 31 day blogging challenge and I’ve managed to post Whitlee’s Birth Story (Part 1 and Part 2), her 1 Month Update, 2 Month Update, a breastfeeding update, and even her nursery, but I’ve never posted how I’m doing!

I’m currently 10 weeks, 2 days postpartum and feeling really great mentally and physically.

Pain wise, I honestly think that Whitlee being in the NICU helped me heal faster physically. The second they told me I could go down there and see her, I was gone! The first trip was by wheelchair because I was still in hell ahem, on magnesium sulfate, but after that we figured it’d be a good idea for me to walk if I could. It was slow going at first but by the time Nolan went back to work the following week at a week postpartum, I was moving pretty good and he actually commented one night while walking through the hospital to the NICU that I must be feeling better because he wasn’t having to walk slower for me anymore. Against doctor’s recommendation, I did drive myself to and from the hospital before their two week rule but in my defense, I was off all pain meds by the Saturday following birth (4 days postpartum) and Nolan made me drive with him in the car as a test to make sure I was alert and fully capable.

Weight wise, I almost wish I was still pumping (what!) because I ended up gaining 50 lbs total for my pregnancy (blew my goal by 20lbs, thank you preeclampsia fluid retention) but lost 20 of it within two weeks. That was mostly due to the fluid leaving – hello night sweats – and pumping and breastfeeding. The next 10 came off pretty quickly after that and now I’m basically at a stand still with 20 more lbs to go. I’ve started eating clean again and working out a little, but no more loss yet. I’m back in two of my pre pregnancy jeans but it’s a tight squeeze and not very comfortable. I usually still rock leggings or yoga pants. I did not escape 100% stretch mark free, but they didn’t show up until way after delivery. I ended up with some really faint ones on my hips and butt. But they’re so faint, I’m not entirely sure that’s what they are.

image

Picture from the weekend - wearing leggings!

My incision healed pretty well for the most part. One half of it looks amazing, like barely there amazing, but the other half raised up, widened a little, and turned purple. My doctor said it was a keloid on that side and that it should go away eventually. She also said it was probably from overdoing it too soon… hello, my baby was still in the hospital. I had places to be!

image

Anyway, I ordered some Scar Away silicone sheets specifically for c section scars and it flattened that keloid almost immediately. It’s still a little purple, and a little wider than the rest of it, but I’m okay with that. I look at that scar and can see that where they pulled that sweet baby out of my belly and into this world to meet her momma and daddy.

Mentally, I’m so thankful to not have had many issues with postpartum depression. It was a little overwhelming at first trying to get the hang of everything when she came home and of course, the NICU was heartbreaking prior to that, but overall I don’t think I experienced anything out of the ordinary, aside from crying my eyes out over the new Budweiser commercial. I know it’s so common to have depression afterwards, so I’m extremely thankful that I feel happy more than anything. It doesn’t hurt that Nolan tells me I’m a good momma just about every day. He says I’m the only one that just “knows” what she wants. It makes my heart smile to hear that!

image

Internally, I think everything is back to normal. For a while it felt like my bladder wasn’t in the right spot, kind of like a pulling feeling. My doctor said it was normal and would subside, which it eventually did. My bowels are back to normal finally, (TMI? Sorry!) and my period is back this week. I did jog a little last week and it felt very strange. Things moved that didn’t move before and it hurt a little near my incision, but on the inside, like my organs weren’t quite healed and back where they belong yet. I’m going to keep working out and walking but I’ll pass on running for a while. I’m hoping to be back on a wakeboard about May but I’ve got a while to make sure I feel up to it.

So I think I’m doing really well, all things considered, just have some extra weight still lingering around. That’s the tough part. Because I feel so back to normal otherwise, I feel like my body should be back to its normal size and it’s not. Nolan keeps reminding me I just had a baby. Let’s see if he’s still saying that at 6 months…  🙂

image

6 thoughts on “Postpartum Update – 10 Weeks

  1. You are doing great! Friends have reminded me it takes 9 months to gain baby weight so I shouldn’t stress about getting the weight off and give my body that 9 months to get back to where I was. You’re on the right track and I’m sure you’ll drop that last 20 soon! 🙂

    I love the pictures. Whitlee is just adorable! 10 weeks already seems crazy!

    • Thank you! I keep telling myself that too, that after 9 months if I’m still overweight, then I can have a pity party lol..

      And 10 weeks, I know! I can’t believe how fast it’s gone by! I only have 6 weeks left til I go back to work and time is flying too fast! 😕

      • Lol we might have a pity party together! 🙂

        I’m sure these next 6 weeks will fly unfortunately. I have 9 left and just realized yesterday I’m almost at the halfway point. The last few weeks I have been looking forward to going back but the last couple of days my perspective is starting to change. I keep telling myself not to wish time away as April 8th will be here before I know it.

  2. You look great! I still have some weight to lose myself, and it’s hard to not eat junk. With Clara, it’s so easy to eat fries or chicken nuggets or anything I can eat one-handed. I can’t wait to run again!

    • Gosh I know! I find myself eating whatever is convenient too. I eat the majority of my meals one handed too! And I used to never crave sweets, especially while pregnant and now all I want are sweets.

Leave a Reply

