Whitlee | 9 Months

Well, hello again guys. Jaime here, momma to a 9 MONTH OLD. What even. I mean she might as well be a teenager. I remember posting her 7 month update, saying that it seemed like Whitlee hit 6 months and just took off on the milestones. Well 8 months met us with nothing majorly new, just getting really good at everything she was doing. And then 9 months hit. Man oh man, 9 months has left me in the dust. Milestones on milestone on milestones.

IMG_4969

Stats:

We actually had her 9 month appointment on the real day this time (the 25th) and Whitlee is now weighing 17 lbs 9 oz (46th percentile) and is 27 1/4″ tall (36th percentile). The neonatologist and pediatrician both told us that she probably wouldn’t be fully caught up on development and size until 9 months, and at this appointment they told us that she is officially “caught up”. Finally! Such an exciting moment!

IMG_4971

Eating:

We’re still doing our normal bottles, but is seems like she has reduced back a little from her normal 6 ounces to closer to 4-5. We’re also doing breakfast, lunch, and dinner normally, with snacks occasionally in between. Originally, the pediatrician had said to mix her bottles at a 22 calorie ratio until 9 months, and at her appointment they said it was up to us whether we dropped back to 20 calories or not. We decided to keep with what we’re doing since she is used to that consistency and she tends to be weirded out by any changes. She’s still eating a bottle in the middle of the night about half the time. If for some reason she is awake at 11 or so and I’m still up, I’ll go ahead and top her off for the night and she skips that 2 am wakeup call for another bottle. This is our normal eating schedule:

4:30/5:00 AM – 1st bottle (4 oz)

7:30 AM – Breakfast (usually baby yogurt and cheerios or tiny pancakes)

9:00 AM – 2nd bottle (5-6 oz)

(snacks after nap sometimes, usually puffs, lil crunchies, or fruit)

1:00 PM – 3rd bottle (5-6 oz)

1:30 PM – Lunch (usually a Stage 3 baby food or one of the squeezable pouches)

5:00 PM – 4th bottle (usually a fairly small bottle.. 2-4 oz)

6:00 PM – Dinner (Stage 3 baby food or whatever we’re having. I use this time to let her try new things.)

7:30/8:00 – 5th bottle (5-6 oz)

11:00 PM or 2:00 AM – little bottle (2 oz)

Also, her likes and dislikes for food seem to have become more pronounced. If she acts like she doesn’t like something, I’ll usually try it again in a few days, but after that I let it be. She knows what she likes and will open her mouth up instantly. If it is something new or something she has decided she doesn’t like, she’ll clamp her lips shut and actually shake her head “no”.

IMG_4980

 

Food Likes:

Cheerios

Strawberry Yogurt – favorite!

Chicken Zuchinni Orzo (Gerber Stage 3)

Pork Roast (shredded bites of what I was eating)

Puffs

Lil Crunchies – Ranch flavor

Broccoli

Hot dogs (cut super small)

Pancakes (plain, no syrup)

Food Dislikes:

Most Fruit

Whole Green Beans

Tuna

Mashed Potatoes

IMG_4982

Sleep:

Well, we’re still battling this one. Back when she was swaddled, we did a loose version of “Cry It Out”, and it worked amazingly. Fast forward to the months when her little personality is starting to shine and we have figured out that CIO is just not going to work. There are a handful of kids that it just doesn’t work for and I think Whitlee is one of them. We have figured out that she has her momma’s attitude + her daddy’s willpower, and I’m telling you this girl brings a whole new meaning to persistent. She will literally CIO for hours if I’d let her. H O U R S. On the flip side, we have figured out that she’s much better with our presence, so I can get her to fall asleep in her bed if I will just sit by her bed and let her see me, but I don’t talk to her unless its to calm her down, I don’t touch her unless she’s hysterical, and I actually pretend to sleep myself and usually she’ll go right on to sleep. Last week though we had a rough weekend and she was awake every hour in her bed so I finally just brought her to bed with me, only to spend the entire night with her tossing and turning and kicking and flailing – all while asleep. The next day I noticed her top front teeth were super close to breaking through, so I chalked it up to teething and let her sleep with me. Plus she is learning to walk behind a walking toy and it got the best of her last Sunday and she hit her head pretty hard. There wasn’t any blood, swelling or vomiting, and her eyes were dilating normal, but she cried pretty hard and for a good while before she calmed down so I wasn’t about to make her cry for hours trying to go to sleep on top of it. I recently read The No Cry Sleep Solution by Elizabeth Pantley and we’re currently trying a different route on getting her to sleep better at night. Right now she sleeps in her bed for usually an hour or so and then I’ll let her sleep with me. I’ve been trying to get this post up all week but she usually wakes up about the time I sit down to work on it.

She takes two naps consistently now – one morning nap about 9:15 and an afternoon nap about 2:00. Both are usually an hour and a half to two hours. 

IMG_4983

Milestones:

She learned how to do so much stuff this month and is on the move now, so she’s into everything.

-Finally crawling really well, and really fast

-Pulling up on everything if she can reach it

-Also pulled up in her crib, so we had to lower the mattress

-Cruises around the furniture

-Will walk behind her walking toy (slowly, but she’s getting the hang of it for sure)

-Eating a lot of “big people” food

-Crossed from the coffee table to the couch

-Can stand holding on to something with only one hand

-Can stand unassisted if her butt is against something (like the wall or the couch or my legs)

-Can stand fully unassisted for about 3 seconds

-Waves “Hi”

-Waves “Bye Bye” (different wave from “Hi”)

-Claps her hands when we say “Yayyyyy”

-Does a hand motion for “Come Here”

-Says full on “Daddy” (not just “Da-Da”… still no Mama yet)

-Shakes her head “No”

-Dances

I’m still expecting those front teeth any day. She has pretty much outgrown all 6 month clothes and is in 6-9 and 9 month outfits.  And her swimsuits and pajamas are 12 months! We’re still in size 3 diapers and probably will be for a long time. I’m even going to exchange a couple of boxes of 4’s and 5’s because I have doubts that we’ll ever grow out of size 3.

IMG_4986

Likes:

Her likes are becoming increasingly unique.

-watching Daddy mow the yard

-watching Momma sweep the floor (she’ll chase the broom around)

-A n y t h i n g with water (tub, pools, lake, the sink)

-Other children, especially her cousin Tyner

-Being outside

-Getting down from being held. Wants “down” all the time.

-Sitting/Standing in the grass

-Dogs

-Remotes/Cell Phones

-“The Hot Dog Song” on Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

 

Dislikes:

-Diaper Changes

-Clothing Changes

-Getting her face wiped after eating

IMG_4984

Another month down, another month of this sweet little life. She is becoming so smart and so big, it kills me. But also makes me so proud. I can’t wait for the next month because I feel like walking and “mama” are in our near future. Whew…time to babyproof! We love you so very very much, Whitlee Bug!

 

IMG_4989

IMG_4993

IMG_4995

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

6 thoughts on “Whitlee | 9 Months

  1. Wow she’s sure grown a lot! Your pictures are adorable, as always! I can’t believe she’s 17.5 lbs already! Mackenzie might be 14.5 now, we’ll find out on the 18th.

    It’s amazing how fast they grow.

    We’re in the same boat…half the time we’re woken up in the middle of the night too. It’s generally 2-3 am if she does. I swear my body has it figured out too and even if she does sleep through the night I still wake up.

    • I really see how much she’s grown in that progression picture. She’s HUGE in the last one! And I notice it when I hold up 12 month pjs and my husband says “wth there’s no way she fits in those. They’re way too big.” And then she does 🙈. I swear she gained 3 lbs in the last month from eating so much food. I realized the other day that her favorite thing – strawberry yogurt – is 100 calories a container and she eats a whole one at least once, sometimes twice a day! And bonus – it helps make her bowels more regular. I agree on waking up anyway .. Last night she slept in her bed for like 3 hours and I couldn’t sleep the whole time. I’m a mess lol. Can’t wait to see how Mackenzie’s update goes! (P.s. My phone totally knows your kid’s name.. It just finished it for me lol)

      • I noticed that too in her last pic! I’ve been focusing on high calorie/fat foods like bananas and avocados. I found some oatmeal with strawberry bits and mixed with formula I think it equals 84 calories / serving. I’ll have to try the yogurt!

        Sorry to hear of your sleeping issues. I’m thankful Mackenzie stays in her crib all night.

        Too funny about your phone! 🙂

    • Thank you! It has been an insane month! Something new almost every day and even since actual typing this update at 9 months and posting it a week later, she’s added half a dozen more things she can “do” to it! We haven’t tried the wheel things yet.. The only thing I don’t like about the Lil Crunchies is the lid doesn’t seal very well and in Texas the humidity is crazy so they go stale before she can finish a whole can and then they’re extremely hard to chew. I tried one myself to make sure they were still okay and I could barely bite into it!

  2. Pingback: Whitlee | 10 Months | Southernly Ever After

Leave a Reply

