Whitlee | 10 Months

 

Whew.. I am so behind. We’re about a week and a half from 11 months, but during the fall we have birthdays galore and then Miss Whitlee got sick, so I’ve had little spare time. But! I’m here now. I’ll try to post 11 months on time.

IMG_4999

So…just when I think we have had the best month yet (ahem.. 7 months, and then again at 9 months) …then we get to 10 months. I feel like I remember reading blogs where a mom would be like “Ohh, this is my favorite age yet.” And then the next month, they’re like “I know I said this before, but this is my favorite age yet.” Well, now I get it. I thought seeing my little girl light up with her first smile took the cake. Then I heard her laugh, and say daddy, and say mama, and man, she is just getting to be more and more fun every single day. She is so smart and funny and silly. We just love her to death.

IMG_5006

Stats:

We ended up going to the doctor last week for an upper respiratory infection. She only weighed 17 lbs 14 oz, but  I’m sure she’s growing because she is steadily outgrowing all of her clothes, mostly length ways. They said not to worry because she’s so active now, she won’t gain weight nearly as fast anymore. I work with a guy that has a little girl that was born a week or so before Whitlee and was full term and they are exactly the same size. Whitlee is actually a tad bigger, so I’ll call her good.

IMG_5017

Eating:

It’s kind of crazy to me how she’s slowly transitioning into eating normal meals and eating less and less formula. We’re still do formula at 22 calories, but she is definitely beginning to eat less often. She has moved into where she eats like a morning bottle before her nap, and an afternoon bottle before her nap, and she gets a bottle before bed, all additional to actual breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with occasional snacks in between. She’s also still eating a bottle in the middle of the night. My next move is to wean that bottle for good finally. This is our normal eating schedule:

7:30 AM – Breakfast (usually baby yogurt and cheerios – she is seriously obsessed with all kinds of Gerber baby yogurt)

9:00 AM – Morning Bottle (5-6 oz)

12:30/1:00 PM – Lunch (usually a Stage 3 baby food or one of the squeezable pouches)

1:30 PM/2:00 PM – Afternoon Bottle (5-6 oz)

5:00 PM – Dinner (Stage 3 baby food or whatever we’re having. I use this time to let her try new things.)

7:30/8:00 – Night bottle (6-8 oz)

1:00/ 2:00 AM – little bottle (4 oz)

She’s still pretty particular about her likes and dislikes. She will shake her head “no” when she doesn’t want anymore. She also prefers to eat from the little pouches more so than  a spoon (unless its yogurt), so I trick her into eating all kinds of stuff using reusable pouches from Squooshi. Aside from being a little annoying to wash, they work great!

IMG_5016

Food Likes:

Gerber Baby Yogurt – every flavor so far

Cheerios

Macaroni and Cheese

Real Spaghetti (not baby food spaghetti)

Limes

Beans and Rice (Mexican restaurant)

Food Dislikes:

Most Fruit

Any kind of baby food “meat”

Most tomato based foods (raviolli, spaghetti os) – she loved homemade spaghetti though

French Fries

Sleep:

While she’s still not sleeping all night in her bed, she does sleep in it for naps and a couple of hours at night. We’re still co-sleeping, because that’s what works for us to get any sleep and I’m not gonna lie – I secretly like being that close to her. I miss her when she’s in her bed.

She still takes two naps – one morning nap about 9:00 and an afternoon nap about 2:00. Both are usually an hour and a half to two hours. Occasionally she’ll miss a nap and occasionally she’ll pick up an extra cat nap. But most commonly, two solid naps.

Milestones:

This is where 10 months smacked me in the face.

-She cut both top front teeth this month! One the end of August, and the other was about a week and a half behind it. Those were pretty rough nights.

-Goes from crawling to sitting up perfectly now

Said Mama!

-Started doing this odd scoot on her butt, while she leaves one leg under her. It’s like a half full crawl, and half scoot.

-Can “dance” on demand now

-And the big one – her first steps!! She took two steps on September 11 and now she will take one or two steps without falling. I couldn’t believe it! I have been so worried her real first steps would be while I was at work, but we started working with her one week and she ended up doing it on a Friday evening for the first time. It was so exciting.

She’s wearing mostly all 9 month clothes with the occasional 12 month outfits and we’re still in size 3 diapers.

IMG_5004

Likes:

-Any animals

-Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

-Other children, especially her cousin Tyner.

-Being outside

-Riding the RZR

-“Driving” Daddy’s truck

-Getting her ears cleaned with baby Q-tips…seriously she can be screaming and will just go silent when I clean her ears.

-Remotes/Cell Phones

Dislikes:

-Diaper Changes

-Clothing Changes

-Getting her face wiped after eating

We finally baby proofed everything with baby gates and bought the cabinet latches because she is into e v e r y thing. But its so much fun to watch her learn new things, which happens just about every day. I can’t believe our tiny little 4 lb 3 oz preemie is a walking, talking pre-toddler with 4 teeth and a head full of reddish blonde hair. She is so much more than we could have ever asked for. I seriously don’t know how I went so long without her in my life. We love you more than the world, little girl!

IMG_5018

1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10

3 thoughts on “Whitlee | 10 Months

  1. I’ve been wondering when this post would show up in my reader! I can’t believe she’s walking already! How are we so close to first birthdays already? This time last year we were just getting everything ready for baby! I’m intrigued by your daily food/formula schedule. I’m having issues getting Mackenzie to take her formula *surprise* so I’m wondering if us changing it up and giving her yogurt first then a bottle might make a difference. How does it work for you in the morning with feeding her and daycare? Do you feed her before taking her or just take her and she eats there?

    • I can’t believe she’s walking either. It’s insane and the cutest thing ever. She’s gotten really good at it this last week so 11 months is proving to be just as eventful lol. I’m planning to do a day in the life post for a workday and a weekend day soon that will prob be a lot more informative but basically this is our schedule on a weekday – (she doesn’t go to daycare anymore.. I guess I never posted about that.. My mother in law keeps her full time now.) I leave the house at 6:45 so I try to let her sleep until about 6:40. I get her up, change diaper and clothes and get in her straight in the car. It’s about 5 minutes to my MIL and I drop her off on my way to work. She feeds her yogurt and Cheerios right after she gets there so about 7:00/7:15, she plays for a while and then gets a 6 oz bottle at 8:30/ 9. She falls asleep eating and naps a couple of hours. Wakes up about 10:30/11 and she eats lunch about 12, usually about half of a stage 3 baby food. She plays for a while again and gets another 6 oz bottle about 2 and goes down for an afternoon nap. I pick her up at 4:45 and give her a snack when we get home while I cook dinner. She eats at the same time as us about 5:45/6 and I normally feed her the other half of the baby food or let her try new stuff like maybe what we were eating. She gets another 6 oz bottle right before bed at about 7:30. Then sometimes wants a 4 oz bottle in the middle of the night. Whew! Hope that helps a little! I’ve figured out its like a balancing game… Finding enough time between the food and the bottles and vice versa that she’ll eat food and then also eat her bottles. I’ve found if she eats food too close to her last bottle or too close to a snack, she won’t hardly eat. I’ve also noticed that she won’t eat very much sometimes for whatever reason, then suddenly she’s a bottomless pit for like 3 days then back to hardly eating. Teething also plays a big part.. When she’s cutting teeth I can’t really get her to eat anything but super cold yogurt. Also play around with different temps.. Whitlee prefers most of her food cold, even like macaroni or chicken noodle baby food. (Gross lol) Anyway, hope this helps!!

      • Thanks for sharing all of that! It’s nice that you only have to drive 5 minutes with her. We have a 30-35 minute drive to daycare everyday. We’ve been so hit and miss with bottles that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do differently but I don’t know. She prefers finger foods to anything else, but gags on some things yet so I’m still trying to spoon feed her yogurt and Gerber stage 3’s. I figure it will all work out at some point and really is trial and error.

Leave a Reply

