Whitlee | 11 Months

IMG_5292

So I lied. 11 month post did not happen on time. But in our defense, Whitlee was running 104 fever the day she turned 11 months, so we had a rough couple of days. She’s better now though! It was the weirdest thing. We ran some errands a couple of Saturdays ago and I noticed while we were out that she felt a little warm, but was acting fairly normal. She gives “hugs” these days where she lays her head on your shoulder or chest and she was doing that a little more than normal but I wasn’t sure if she actually felt bad. I actually recorded information for a Day In The Life post that day. Anyway, we got home that afternoon and I was able to check her temp – 99 something. So I figured probably new teeth. She tends to run a low grade fever when she cuts new teeth. This time though she acted normal, played like normal, ate normal, everything. The only thing out of the ordinary was, she does this thing where she leans her face down in the bathtub and blows bubbles with her mouth and she got a little water in her mouth and started coughing, then threw up. But it wasn’t like she threw up, it was just a little bit of gag and then spit up. Didn’t think much of it. Through the night, she felt much warmer so about 2 AM I got up and checked again – 102.5. Okay, definitely not just teeth. By Sunday (the 25th), she was at 104 and still not a single additional symptom. No runny nose, no cough, no vomiting, no diarrhea, no weird rash, nothing. Just cried a lot and slept a lot. I was able to talk to the pediatrician and she said just keep her hydrated and comfortable, give her meds if she seems like she can’t sleep well or won’t eat, but otherwise try to let it run its course and bring her first thing Monday. By Monday she didn’t even have fever anymore and they tested her for everything under the sun, including cath-ing her to check urine for a UTI. Nothing. And that was it. She’s perfectly normal now.

IMG_5205

Stats:

Since we ended up going to the doctor yet again, we got another weight. She’s 18 lbs now. No idea on height, but now that she is standing really well, I’m going to start marking her height on a growth chart that will hang on the wall. I’ll probably get her first measurement on it on her birthday – which is less than a month away now!! Oh em GEE.

IMG_5303

Eating:

Since we’re nearing up on a year old, I’ve naturally started to stress about what she should be eating at this point. We’ve had a lot of trouble with the Stage 3 baby food and I never could put a finger on whether it was taste or texture. If you’re not familiar, Stage 3 are purees with small soft chunks of food in them. They’re basically the same flavors as Stage 2, but we were lucky if we could get her to eat more than a few bites. More times than not, we’d just end up feeding her more yogurt or cheerios because it seemed like that’s all she’d eat. After reading something another mom blogger pinned on Pinterest, (Thanks Kendra!) I got the impression that Stage 3’s are notorious for being rejected because they’re just weird with the texture. And at this point she should be eating more solids than anything, but if she’s not quite ready, to offer solids but top her off with normal purees and to thicken the purees with rice cereal. So we set that plan in motion and lo and behold – the girl can EAT. For breakfast now, she gets a variety of things. We usually give her some type of finger food solids – homemade french toast sticks, waffles, cheerios, eggs, and then she gets yogurt or oatmeal thickened with rice cereal. For lunch/dinner, we’ve started giving her whatever we’re having and then topping her off again with baby food thickened with rice cereal. She’s eating a much wider variety of things now and it seems like this will help make that transition much easier when we slowly do away with the extra purees and move to just normal food.

We’re still doing formula at 22 calories, and she takes a morning bottle, an afternoon bottle, a bedtime bottle, and unfortunately a middle of the night bottle. I’m still working on weaning the middle of the night bottle but I feel like we’re close. I just wish I knew the secret.

IMG_5305

Food Likes:

Gerber Baby Yogurt – every flavor so far

Cheerios

Hot Dogs (cut super small)

Baby Goldfish

Salad Crackers

Bananas coated with graham crackers

Chicken Nuggets (cut super small)

Any bread – girl likes her some carbs

Pork Roast (cut super small)

Beans of any kind

Food Dislikes:

Plain bananas

Any kind of baby food “meat”

Avocado

IMG_5245

Sleep:

We are slowly making progress in this department. After she fought me a couple of times on putting her to sleep, I started putting her in her bed at night and doing again another VERY loose version of cry it out. Not a single time has she lasted more than 15 minutes of crying, and in the last week she has only whined a little and then gone right to sleep. She’s still not making it all night in her crib, but she is making it about 3 or 4 hours for the first wakeup. I still bring her to bed with me after that, but I’m about to put it to the test and see if she’ll stick it out. I almost think she would skip the night feeding if she would stay asleep in her bed. So maybe those two things will come together?

She still takes two naps – one morning nap about 9:00 and an afternoon nap about 2:00. Both are usually an hour and a half to two hours. A few times, she’s almost held out long enough that we have skipped one of the naps and I’m nervous for when we make the switch to one nap.

Milestones:

-Two more teeth! We’re up to 6 now. I was tickling her one day and she always throws her head back and laughs and all the sudden I saw two tiny new top teeth broke through the skin that were not there the day before.

look at those teeth!

look at those teeth!

-Goes from crawling to standing on her own now

-Is up to 7 steps now I believe. She’s getting pretty good at walking. She cruises around the furniture and then will take off on her own.

-Says “Uh Oh”

-Says “Bye Bye”

-Gives hugs on demand

-Gives sugars on demand

-Gives high fives on demand

-Points at e v e r y t h i n g

-Wears a ponytail now and pigtails…. cue Momma with big heart eyes!

So we’re up to 4 words and she’s getting smarter every day. We can ask here where something is and 9 times out of 10, she’ll point at it. We’re starting to work on faces too – like nose, eyes, mouth. Right now she’s good at pointing at daddy’s truck, lights, and other people.

She’s starting to wear more 12 month clothing and I think we’re very near swapping to size 4 diapers. We’re on a box of 3’s now, and I think I’ll try a box of 4’s that we already have waiting when we swap this next time.

IMG_5214

Likes:

-Any animals

-Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

-Other children, especially her cousin Tyner.

-Being outside

-Riding the RZR

-“Driving” Daddy’s truck

-Getting her ears cleaned with baby Q-tips…seriously she can be screaming and will just go silent when I clean her ears.

-Remotes/Cell Phones

-Fascinated with the pattern on our flooring

IMG_5221

-Did I mention pacifiers?? She wouldn’t take one to save my life when she was a tiny baby, but now that girl can spot her “bink bink” a mile away. We have them stashed everywhere so there’s always one available. I actually attribute a little bit of the sleep transition to the bink bink because she seems to self soothe a little easier with it. I hope that’s not going to be too tough a habit to break.

Dislikes:

-Diaper Changes

-Clothing Changes

-Being told “no”

It is insane to me that it is her birthday month already and I’m working on the final details of her first birthday party. Time truly does speed up when you have kids. She’s learning something new every day and amazes us constantly with how smart she is. She’s on the move like CRAZY right now so catching a picture of her that isn’t blurry is becoming quite the task. Happy 11 months, Whitlee Bug! One more month to go!

IMG_5291

IMG_5227

IMG_5223

2 thoughts on “Whitlee | 11 Months

  1. She’s getting so big! Definitely looks like a little girl now!

    Glad you found one of my pins useful! 🙂 I’ve been having a hard time figuring out what to feed Mackenzie because she kept pushing away the spoon.

    I can’t believe she’ll be a year in a few short weeks. This last year has really flown on by. I don’t like that it seems to be going this quickly.

    I’m still with you on the middle of the night feeding. We have one around 2-3 am most mornings. I don’t know how this is going to work when we get away from bottles soon and go to whole milk in sippy cups. I’ve heard some parents keep a sippy of water in their child’s crib overnight. Guess that will be something I’m discussing with the pediatrician next month.

    I’m glad to hear her sickness didn’t amount to anything serious!

    Im

    • I feel like she looks like a little girl now too! I can’t get over her ponytails and pig tails.

      Whitlee started pushing the spoon away sometimes too so I started giving her more finger foods and just letting her do her thing. Then I can usually sneak a few more bites in because she’s not really thinking about it. I still feel like she’s a little hit and miss sometimes on food, like she’ll barely eat one day and then a bottomless pit the next. I guess she eats when she’s hungry…

      But yes, I seriously cannot even make sense that it’s already November! Insane!

Leave a Reply

