Baby Hillin #2 | 5 Weeks

 

Now that all of our family knows, I can start posting updates for the new baby! I don’t know that I’ll be doing weekly updates again because life with a toddler is crazy but I’m gonna shoot for maybe every three weeks this time? I saw a progression picture today that was every 4 weeks and I kind of liked that too. We’ll see how I feel about it and how often I’m able to snag a belly picture. 

How Far Along: 5 Weeks

Baby is the size of a(n): apple seed 

Gender Predictions: I feel pretty different this time so far, so maybe a boy? Also when we ask Whitlee if she wants a brother or sister, she says brother. So sweet! Another girl would be so exciting too and actually a little easier since we already have so much girl stuff. And matching girl outfits?! My heart would explode! 

Weight Gain: Maybe a lb or so. I’m hoping to keep it a little more under control this time around. I gained 50 with Whitlee but there was a lot towards the end due to the preeclampsia. I’m starting a little heavier this time also. 

Maternity Clothes: I’m already like “umm, is it too early to wear maternity leggings?”

Belly Button In or Out: In

Wedding Rings On or Off: On

Sleep: So so tired. I always nap with Whitlee when I can, but our naps lately have been so amazing. 2-2.5 hours! But then there have also been some random bouts of insomnia. 

Best Moment This Week: Positive tests, telling our families, and realizing our sweet baby girl is gonna be a big sister. All the heart eyes!

Miss Anything: Nothing really. This baby may be our last so I’m truly trying to enjoy every minute. 

Movement: None yet, of course. I had flutters with Whitlee about 12/13 weeks I think, so I’m anxious to see if it’s the same with this babe. 

Cravings/Aversions: I’ve been super hungry lately, and maybe a slight craving for tomato juice…like V8. And maybe a slight aversion to chicken. Nothing too major just yet. 

Symptoms: I actually started thinking I was pregnant about a week before we found out for sure. I had one random day of nausea and a sore throat that disappeared the next day. I have something called premature ventricular contractions (PVC) and normally not much will irritate mine, except decongestants annndd when I was pregnant with Whitlee. So when I noticed them being highly increased right before I tested, I got excited. My boobs have also been super sore, which was the same with Whitlee. I’ve also had a dull lower backache and my sense of smell has been out. of. this. world. Oh and I don’t know if this counts as a symptom, but I have been having all kinds of stretching feelings in my uterus area. I showed pretty early with Whitlee, but this time it was like my uterus said “ah yes, I know how this goes” and started expanding.  So there’s that! 

Additional Notes:
We are over the moon excited about expanding our family! It’s almost surreal and we feel extremely blessed. I will be considered high risk this time from the beginning but I’m praying for full term and hopefully the most boring pregnancy ever. I had my first doctors appointment on September 15 and we discussed our plan of care this time around. They’re doing an early ultrasound at 6 weeks this time to get a solid dating and make sure everything looks okay. We’re also going to do a 24 hour urine collection in the next couple of weeks so that they have a base line on what my normal protein levels look like. I did switch OBs since having Whitlee and have discussed my concerns at length with my new doctor and his nurse practitioner that I’ll see from time to time and they seem genuinely interested in my care this time around. They’ll be monitoring me a lot closer but have also asked me to relax and just enjoy being pregnant! Here’s to a new adventure! 

Pregnant with Whitlee at 5 Weeks 

One thought on “Baby Hillin #2 | 5 Weeks

  1. That’s such a pretty ( apple seed ) you got going on there!!! You look beautiful, as always. And again, I am SOOOOOO happy for you two, three and now four. You know a mini Nolan would be kinda nice. BUT, it really doesn’t matter, as long as you and baby are healthy. Really hoping you have an easier time with this one. I think you will. It has already started out differently. So relax and enjoy this pregnancy. Here’s to a smooth ride on this one and MAYBE Whitlee will get that baby brother ( or sister ).Who cares? Not me!!!!!!!!! HUGS AND KISSES ALL AROUND!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

