Baby Hillin #2 | 21 Weeks


How Far Along: 21 Weeks

Baby is the size of a(n): banana.. or according to the Ovia app, a baseball cap

Gender: It’s a Boy!

Weight Gain: At my 20 week appointment, I had gained 17 pounds and was measuring 21 weeks. So I’m sure I’m up a pound or two and up a week as well. 

Maternity Clothes: Oh man. This has become a struggle. I so didn’t want to buy anymore maternity clothes but my jeans from pregnancy with Whitlee don’t really fit as well and I’m seriously outgrowing shirts at rapid pace. I’m still trying to pair non maternity and maternity but this belly is large. 

Belly Button In or Out: In, flatter by the day. 

Wedding Rings On or Off: On

Sleep: I sleep really hard, but still getting up to pee a lot and the SPD bothers me when rolling over but I’m making it. 

Best Moment The Last Few Weeks: Feeling a few kicks from the outside!

Miss Anything: Nothing, really. Just trying to enjoy it the best I can. 

Movement: Getting stronger. I actually felt him from the outside for the first time on New Years Eve, literally just after midnight. I guess he was ringing in the new year! This is your year, baby boy! I’ve since felt him from the outside just a few times. Currently his head is up near my ribs on the left and I still feel fluttery feelings there but his feet are down low to the right and he kicks a lot there. I found out I have an anterior placenta again, they didn’t mention low lying this time, but the placenta could be blocking some of his movements. 

Cravings/Aversions: I don’t think I’ve had many strong cravings lately. I do seem to like sweets a little more this pregnancy than last, which is way backwards on old wives tales. Oh and tator tots from Sonic have been tasting like dirty sink water to me lately but I’m not sure if that’s a pregnancy thing or a Sonic thing. 

Symptoms: Well, I’ve been having some increased spd pain, so bad that sometimes it’s so painful to walk for a few steps and then it eases up. And the Braxton Hicks have gotten a little crazy. I had the same exact thing happen with Whitlee at this point last time and thankfully my cervix went unchanged. I ended up getting checked this past week because over the weekend between 20 and 21 weeks, the BH were way too close together, way too frequent. Cervix was good.. hard and closed and measured 4″ at my last ultrasound. I’ve been drinking more water and trying to rest more but it may just be that I have an irritable uterus and I may have to get cervical checks more often to be on the safe side. 

Additional Notes: I try to make sure I record everything because it’s actually been really helpful to be able to read posts from Whitlee’s pregnancy and know what’s normal for me and what’s not. At Huck’s anatomy scan, I mentioned he was extremely wiggly, which is sort of crazy because I just don’t feel him as much as we saw him. He does seem to move more when I lay on my back, like for ultrasounds or when they measure my belly and check heart tones so maybe that’s why he was so active. But they called last Friday and said “nothing to panic about, it’s completely common for this to happen, it’s a super hard shot to get, especially if baby is really active… but they weren’t able to get a good picture of his heart and didn’t see all four chambers.” They want us to come back in two weeks from that, which is this coming Tuesday. We’re praying that he was just too active and that nothing is wrong with our baby boy’s sweet little heart but I can’t help but be a little nervous. Heartbeat was good and strong and he’s measuring a little ahead so they said those were great signs. I’ll try to update after that appointment. Nolan is more logical than I am, but he’s probably right – he thinks that if it were something bad, they would have gotten us straight to the level 2 ultrasound or called us in immediately. Supposedly there’s a lot of growth between 20 and 22 weeks so that may help them see his heart a little better. My appointment is also in the afternoon vs the morning so maybe he’ll be more relaxed and still for them. 

Other than that, things are going well. Just hoping we can make it full term this time! I can’t believe we only have about 4 months left!

5 thoughts on “Baby Hillin #2 | 21 Weeks

  1. You are absolutely beautiful! And Mr. Huck is just going to be a wild child, nothing wrong with his heart. So quit worrying!! Btw…not so sure that white shirt is gonna make this whole pregnancy ;). Love, love, love you xoxo

    • Thanks, momma! Scary to think Whitlee may have been my calm one 😬 I’ll call or text as soon as we know something!

      And don’t worry, I bought it in three different sizes in hopes I could stretch it to the end. πŸ˜‚ Only 6 more pictures to go! (Hopefully!) Love you more!

  2. My beautiful sweeet Jai. I know you have some concerns right now, but try to stay positive and pray. I totally agree with Nolan. Huck’s little heart has been strong and steady this whole time. So, I believe in my heart of hearts he will be JUST FINE!!!!!! He’s just being a little hard headed!! LOL!!! I am confident with the better ultra sound, you will see he’s fine. LOVE ALL 4 OF YOU VERY MUCH!!! AND I WILL BE PRAYING!!!!!!! You are absolutely breath taking and Mr. Huck will be AMAZING!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

