Baby Hillin #2 | 27 Weeks 



How Far Along: 27 Weeks – hello 3rd trimester! 

Baby is the size of a(n):  cauliflower 

Gender: It’s a Boy!

Weight Gain: I had planned to weigh at home but apparently my scale’s batteries died… so I’ll guess around 30ish? I’ll update next week when I go for my glucose test. 

*Update, I was dead on. Up 30 lbs at 27 weeks, 5 days. 

Belly Button In or Out: Flatter by the day, still not out. With Whitlee I think one corner popped out but never the whole thing. 

Wedding Rings On or Off: On 

Sleep: Around 25 weeks I started sleeping really poorly, so I stopped napping when Whitlee naps and I started sleeping better again. But then I started getting so tired during the day and gave in to a few naps and still managed to sleep super hard at night. I think I’m just finally sleeping decent and I’m super thankful for that. 

Best Moment The Last Few Weeks: Finally starting to figure out a bit more on doctors and surgeons and hospitals. We have a lot of things to consider and it’s a tough call to make when your baby’s life is at stake but we’re trusting things will come together as they should. 

Anndd a friend of my dads donated the lumber for my dad to build Huck’s changing table. I can’t wait to see it done and we are (again) so thankful for how generous everyone is being. 

Miss Anything: being able to bend over.. whew!

Movement: Starting to feel him up high a lot more often and a few times have felt something pushing out in my upper right belly. Growth scan at 26 weeks showed that was his little booty. His feet are up high on my left and he’s head down right now. Getting more and more active by the day. It’s still my most favorite part.

Cravings/Aversions: I’ve been craving carb-y sweets like pop tarts, Sonic cinnasnacks, Little Debbie cakes. 

Symptoms: Braxton Hicks are a bit more calm these days but the SPD pain is for sure sticking around, some days worse than others. Starting to notice just a slight feeling of swelling in my ankles when my feet dangle for a long period of time, like driving or sitting on the swing outside, but nothing major. Elevating them helps immediately. Blood pressure is doing really well, still on the lowest dose of my BP meds. Slight bit of heartburn starting to pop up now and then. And does anyone else’s voice get hoarse during pregnancy? I’ve been sounding like I’m getting over a cold for a long time now. 

Additional Notes: Like I mentioned before, we’ve been trying to get a lot of details ironed out for delivery and his surgeries and I plan to do a HLHS update post soon but for now, I’ll leave it that the main thing is still to just stay pregnant as close to full term as possible and to take it easy. So I’ve tried to focus on getting everything at home ready for when he does get to come home. Nolan and I are even planning to deep clean the house soon. My sister in law says she thinks I’m nesting already… very possible. 

Which leads me to – Huck’s nursery is almost ready! Even though he won’t be using it for a long while, it makes me feel a sense of normalcy to be working on his room. When he does come home, we’ll have him set up in our room until after his second surgery, at the least. He’ll most likely need certain care throughout the night so to keep Miss Whitlee as close to her normal schedule as possible, we’ll be trying to make sure we keep her asleep in her room while tending to Huck in our room. 

12 weeks to go! (12! That seems so soon) My personal goal is 34 weeks (April 12th) and then after that, I’ll be celebrating each week that we keep this baby boy baking. 

Baby Pants | Baby Hat | Onesie

Leave a Reply

