Baby Hillin #2 | 33 Weeks 


How Far Along: 33 Weeks

Baby is the size of a(n): pineapple or a head of cauliflower 

Gender: It’s a Boy!

Weight Gain: up to 34 lbs

Belly Button In or Out: Still mostly flat at this point.. it kind of pops out when I laugh or cough. 

Wedding Rings On or Off: On, so crazy to me. I had taken them off long ago with Whitlee at this point. 

Sleep: Give me alllll the sleep. I have been so tired lately. I guess that’s just part of the last bit of pregnancy. I can take a nap just about every day and still be dying to go to sleep at 8 PM. 

Best Moment The Last Few Weeks: Getting good news at our 32 week follow up echo on Huck’s heart. They were able to see a little bit more growth than they did at 22 weeks. This basically means that he may not be as “sick” when he’s born and his first surgery may not be as urgent as thought before. He will still have 2-3 open heart surgeries but the timing of those may have shifted a bit; he may be able to wait a couple of weeks vs a few days. I don’t think we’ll know anything more than this until he’s born and he gets an echo straight on him, as opposed to through me. Full update coming soon hopefully.. we’re still trying to work out a few insurance issues. 

Miss Anything: being able to breathe well. Everything is starting to get super crowded in there. When I sit down I have to give him a few seconds to kind of maneuver around to where I’m not in pain. 

Movement: Still my most favorite part. With Whitlee, I didn’t really miss being pregnant specifically, but I definitely missed feeling her move in there. I’m sure I’ll miss it again. He’s been in the same position for a good while, head down with his back and butt more on my right side and his feet out over on my left. He likes to do this thing where he arches his back or pushes his butt out on my right and kick his feet out on my left. And then sometimes he’s just thrashing around in there making my whole belly jump. 

Cravings/Aversions: Finally ate some crawfish so that craving was satisfied. I felt really puffy afterwards, I’m sure from the insane amount of sodium, but they were so good. Haven’t really been craving anything specifically but the local state fair is going on the next couple of weeks and I KNOW I’ll be craving funnel cake or something deep fried.. most likely will only get a small bite of someone else’s though. Thank you GD. 😑

Symptoms: Needing to pee every 2 minutes is a symptom right? Anytime I stand up, it’s like gravity and the weight of this large kiddo hit me and I have to go right. freaking. now. 

Additional Notes: My pregnancy this time around has been SO different than it was with Whitlee. I still feel overall just “better” than I did with her and I’m sure it was the preeclampsia. My blood pressure is still holding stable and I’m still on the lowest dose of bp meds. No protein in my urine so far. And my feet, hands, and face have resisted much swelling. For reference, this is my foot at 32 weeks with Whitlee and my foot at 32 weeks with Huck. Crazy! 


My wedding rings are still on and I keep saying I think it might be time to take them off but then the next day I can get them on and off just fine. I read on one of my apps that fluid retention is about to increase so I’ll probably take them off in the next week or two just to be safe. 

My gestational diabetes is somewhat under control. My fasting number is being treated with a single insulin shot at night but we haven’t quite hit the sweet spot of the right amount of insulin to lower it enough. We’re bumping it a little at a time but hopefully we’ll find the right dosage soon. 

My personal soft goal for this pregnancy was 34 weeks, which is next Wednesday. I feel like we’re going to breeze right by that, which I am so so thankful for!! My next goal after that is 37 weeks. And then just two more weeks. My normal OB’s office has a growth scan scheduled for next week, just shy of 34 weeks but I’m not sure I’ll still be under their care next week. I may have already had my “transfer of care” by then to the Maternal Fetal Medicine that I’ll see the rest of my pregnancy and that will deliver Huck. My normal OB did go ahead and start bi-weekly non stress tests where I just sit on the monitors for 20 minutes, then if there is anything out of the ordinary they do a biophysical profile ultrasound, then if he doesn’t pass that, we go to the hospital for monitoring. So far we’ve had one perfect nst, and two that landed us a biophysical profile, which thankfully he passed both perfectly. Both times the nst showed a dip in his heart rate (just a tiny one.. I saw it when it happened) and they said sometimes the baby will move and lose contact with the monitor which reads as a decel but they’re usually fine. They just have to do the ultrasound to be sure. I know for sure on the second one, the monitor wasn’t on him just right and every time he moved, the monitor would lose contact and regain it, making the readout sheet look like Morse code. 

So here we are, a week shy of my first goal (34 weeks) and feeling good! Only 6 more weeks to go. I’m curious to see how soon they’ll put our delivery on the books after we do the transfer of care. I kind of think it’s close enough, we may go ahead and get a tentative date. Then we just cross our fingers and pray that we make it to that date! 

One thought on “Baby Hillin #2 | 33 Weeks 

Leave a Reply

